Why “All about that Bass” should be titled “All about that Hate”

LOL it only took me four months to come up with my own original blog post. Most of you know I have been in a lock down battle with the SSA for my disability claim so I haven’t had as much time as I would like to blog. I finally found some time over the last two weeks and I did what any other rational person with no money and no job would do…I went on VACATION!!! I had a great time but it did give me plenty to blog about. For all the faults we have in America, we are light years ahead in fat acceptance (I will leave that here for now, in the near future I NEED to talk about it because I was treated as nearly subhuman in France).

Ha ha, one blog in and I’ve already lied. This isn’t really an original post, I actually just posted this as a comment on the wonderful, amazing, brilliant, tough, sassy, athletic (any superlative adjective fits) Ragen Chastain’s blog about Megan Trainor’s summer hit. And yes, I am a body positivity blogger…for the love of god…don’t send me another link to her song. I hate it and here’s why you should as well:

I am absolutely asexual. Probably by choice (or as a reaction to my environment growing up) but I was probably born gay as I was attracted to men when I was seeking affection. I despise the fact that because my friends and family know me as a budding Body Positivity blogger, I have been sent links to the AWFUL Megan Trainor song all summer. Sure that song promotes a sort of positivity, it does so at the expense of asexual men like me, gay men, thin women, women who have had cosmetic surgery, etc…

Here is my response to various lines in the song:

“I can shake it, shake it, like I’m supposed to do”
–Excuse me? Supposed to do? Megan, I am largely confined to a mobility device because of massive knee injuries. I will ask you to keep your albeist sense of “supposed to do” to yourself. I am not supposed to move for you or anyone else.

“cause I got that boom boom that all the boys chase
And all the right junk in all the right places”
–I do not care to be chased by boys and my weight (its not “junk,” its my BODY). I find it sad that not three stanzas in your existence is defined by men. And in the video, a very skinny, almost sickly looking man at that, despite being classically beautiful.

“‘Cause every inch of you is perfect
From the bottom to the top”
–Oh thanks for the backwards compliment honey, but no, every inch is not perfect. And no amount of silly bubble gum lyrics is going to make me perfect. My psyche is far from perfect either. But hey, thanks for insulting me for not being perfect!

“Boys like a little more booty to hold at night.”
–Boys like this? All boys? Why thanks Megan for leaving out the roughly 10% of the gay population and completely ignoring the asexual population. No, I chose not to hold on to any booty and that is just as valid as YOUR choices.

“You know I won’t be no stick figure silicone Barbie doll”
–It was really nice of you to insult the poor people suffering from anorexia and body dismorphia in your pop song too. Hey!! Togetherness…right Meg? I suppose you’ll be writing a song for my niece who has weighed 115 her entire life despite eating everything in sight. Yeah, she cries herself to sleep at night because she feels too skinny…is her song coming next summer?

“Go ahead and tell them skinny bitches that
No I’m just playing. I know you think you’re fat”
— So the “skinny bitch” thinking he/she is “fat” is wrong? ooooooohhhhhhh booooooooooyyyyyyyy.

Thanks for trying Megan…I think you can “keep stupid your comments in your pocket” next time. (A huge bonus for any blog reader who email the name the movie from which I drew that last quote).

4 thoughts on “Why “All about that Bass” should be titled “All about that Hate”

  1. Nick

    Great post! This song is sleazy trash. I agree with your comments, I just wanted to add that not all straight guys (I am one) look at girls like pieces of meat and like their “booties”, butts, etc. Its disgusting – if this is how someone is looking at or thinking about in women, they need to have their heads examined. I don’t think this song is “body positive”. I think its about trying to get people to think like ghetto degenerates. Alot of music, pop culture, MTV, etc seems devoted to this these days. Thanks again!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

